Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

997 turbo boost issues ( maybe )

Fat Porker

Trainee
Would like to ask you guys opinions on this , firstly I'm new to this model only had Nat aspirated 991's up to this point but always wanted a gen 1 turbo I think I've bought a stonker as in its like new ,one owner 9 k miles car with impeccable history from Guildford Porsche and a great spec carbon ceramics gt silver etc but I'm not sure even with the ultra low miles it's 100% on song the car drives really smoothly no issues whatsoever other than crippling ride in sport etc which it's booked in at CG as per you guys recommendations for a check and probably the dsc upgrade ,but and this where I'm a bit unsure when fully lit ie WOT in both normal and sport modes it just never really feels as ballistic as I was both hoping and expecting .Now initially I put it down to me being a bit gentle with her as she's now my baby and that the NSX had sullied the waters a bit with its ridiculous acceleration and no lag power delivery but today I noticed that no matter what I did the boost gauge readout in the display hardly ever gets above .6 maybe momentarily.7 bar and then drops off again , it's still fast ish but why 1.2bar in sports mode if it won't show it ? Now am I missing something is this a characteristic of the gen 1 cars or do we think boost leak or n75 valve , diverter valves , actuator rods etc car is stock and has no cel lights on ! Part throttle openings seem fine she pulls sweetly enough but even if I keep it planted it never makes more than described boost , tried to speak to Rick today as he's only an hour away from me