Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

A little interior modding..

Basalt_Yellow_997

Silverstone
Thought this may be of interest..

I get bored easily. To that end, I thought, ***** it! Let's pretend I'm a Porsche designer. OK So, I borrowed all their ideas..

However, I did transform my slightly dated-looking 2005 997 and got it a bit more up to date (at least in 997 terms..)

Enjoy the before and afters..

JOBS DONE:

- Installed gen 2 / 991 Steering Wheel (Yes, the PDK buttons are just for show / make it look sexier / and the wheels are cheap because people want flappy paddles :grin: )

- Installed Clarion VX404E Double Din HU (PCM 2.1 sucks quite a lot, plus I felt it was starting to date the car)

- Total black out of centre console (mainly to match the new HU, but also because I felt the grey looked a but 00's and black is black is black..)

--- The above involved finding a black OEM Air Con / HVAC unit and swapping it over and careful masking and painting of other elements (I had a pro body shop do this for me)

The steering wheel was a bit of a doddle until predictably, the horn didn't work. Simply requires PIWIS (and only PIWIS) to activate multi function controls for the wheel. Oh and the six point torx is fine for the 12 point bolt