Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Wax vs Sealant

911KSM

Monza
All,

I'm still new to this detailing world and have a lot to learn and sometimes find the array of products out there quite baffling. I recently purchase some of the poorboys products for my atlas metallic grey C4S. I have used Black Hole Glaze, QD+ and Natty Paste to get a good finish which i have been pleased with and a step up from my Turtle Wax days.

Last night I was looking on the Polishedbliss website (excellent service) and am thinking about trying one of the sealants. The Blackfire Crystal Seal caught my eye as it looks like a real easy product to use with great results. But it looks as though you have to use a polish first to remove the wax before you can apply the sealant. I was hoping that I could apply straight on top of the wax but that doesn't seem to be the case.

So my question is does anyone prefer sealant over wax and what are the real benefits. I am in the early learning stages so any advise would be welcome.

Kevin.

Hi Kev,
There is an alternative you could try. I was converted to the sonax extreme quick Detailer a few months ago and the results are astonishing almost sealant like, in fact one or two people think it should be classed as a sealant.
I waxed about 3 month ago and now after every wash spend just ten minutes applying the sonax, simply spray on wipe and then buff.
The beading and protection not to mention shine it gives are immense but don't just take my word for it, check out the reviews on detailing world and you tube.

I've checked out the YouTube links and it looks good. Thanks for the tip stoke potter.