Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

My 1st 911...... So many choices!?!?!?

15delux

Hi all, I'm new to the world of the watercooled Porsche, done a lot with vw's and older 911's in the past....

So I have about 25k to spend, do I go carerra 2, 4, 4S or turbo?? I have read the issues of engine failure lean towards the 3.4 not saying the 3.6 is immune but the turbo didn't seem to suffer...

I've been looking for a few weeks and see the c2 starts around £13k for a decent low miles and the turbos start at £25k for a 2000ish model.

Apart from the obvious engine difference what else is there?? I was leaning towards the C4S then saw a couple of turbos.... I'm not really fussed on the speed but more reliability and running costs.

Any advice or experiences on this would be gratefully appreciated as the money is now starting to burn a hole and I don't want to just buy any old shed cos it looks nice.

Thanks in advance

Welcome , u will enjoy the forum

:bandit: :bandit: hi 15delux , Welcome , take your time . i have a Porsche Carrera S , manual , coupe . It's been perfect for me . Good Hunting . Cuba :bandit: :bandit: :bandit:

Attachments

• welcome_145.gif
    welcome_145.gif
    3.2 KB · Views: 7,486
The C4S is probably the looker of the 996 family IMHO, but tastes vary. Faults with the whole family are relatively rare compared to most other performance cars, but there are a couple of things to be aware of, the IMS bearing is worth replacing if you ever need to replace the Rear Main Seal (which can leak) or the clutch (if fitted) with a ceramic unit for peace of mind.