Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

extended waranties

TR 1972

What do you all think, up for renewal £900, dont use the car much worth it or not, previous owner said it was a must. Your thoughts pls as I am still very new to this game

Most on this forum will say it's a must. I did it in May this year. :eek:

Hi,

I would personally. If it's out of warranty you will need to pay for the 111 point check as well (around £200).

It covers the main items and will be replaced very shortly (1st October, I believe) with a more comprehensive warranty for about £1500 (so, £600 more expensive!!).

I only really want the warranty to cover the catastrophic engine or gearbox failure (ie. the expensive items!), so the £900 would be fine for me.

But if you want the bumper to bumper cover, which is more in-line with the new car warranty, then talk to OPC about the new one coming out on the 1st (if your warranty is up before then).

If your car is still in warranty and you want to take advantage of the £900 deal before October 1, then:

a. Your warranty needs expire within 4 weeks, OR
b. You will need to pay the 111 point check, even though it's under warranty...madness I know.

Or, you can take your chances, based on the fact that failures are rare and be prepared to splash out £10k+ if required.

My warranty is up at the end of December and I will be taking advantage of the 2 year 'deal' at £2400 for bumper to bumper cover.

I decided that it doesn't cost out to pay for the additional 111 point check (£200) and to write off 3 months warranty (£300), just to save £100 and have a warranty that covers less!!

Cheers,
GD