Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

And mine's a bit stiff when cold...

Stormchild

Couldn't resist the title.

But it is true and I wanted to know if this is normal. I have a new C2S (5 months old) and I've noticed that it is sometimes a bit tricky selecting 1st gear - especially when the car hasn't warmed up. I normally have to select 2nd gear first and then push it into 1st.

Didn't expect this from a Porsche, but given my only other car was an Austin Allegro when I was 17, I can't say that I've got a lot of experience to go on :oops:

Any feedback gratefully received.

Hi, me again... Mine did the same, was worse when I changed to a shorter shifter. In the very cold mornings it needed quite a bit of force or doing the 2nd to 1st motion, reverse was a pain too. After it warmed up though it had a very nice smooth action.

But of course darling. They're meant to be stiff when cold, or just when you wake up. If not, seek medical advice! :)

Seriously though. It's typical for the synchro's on any car to be hard to engage when the oil is thick / ie cold. Having said that, the oil choice does make a difference. Since having my gearbox oil changed by JZ at my last service, my first gear is the easiest to engage ever....It's not a sign of oil age etc, more that some oils just work better in some gearboxes - work with the synchros better.