Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Missing option code stickers:minor nuisance or big discount?

If everything else checked out fine, and you're sure the car is genuine, would you buy it?

• Yes. For a minor discount I'd ignore this detail

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, but I'd want a significant discount

• No, I'd find a different car

• Total voters

catfromouterspace

I'm a Porsche beginner. I've always wanted to drive one and I've learnt a considerable amount about them with a view to buying one.

I've just looked at what is, in my mind, a very good 911. I have all the specs. Everything checked out, except that the two white stickers - one under the bonnet and the other in the service book, the ones with the option codes - were both missing. Neither of the spaces where they go have marks on them, suggesting they were never pasted in the first place. The service book otherwise looks genuine (the printing date checks out).

I assume that there is a reasonable explanation for this, but can't really think of one. Any offers?

Even if I don't mind, I feel that, if I ever want to sell it on, the missing stickers might put a true-blooded Porsche purist off. Then again, someone who is just looking for a stunning car to drive might see this as just a minor detail.

Also please see my poll below.

Dealers don't forget to put the stickers in the service book - it has a new service book.

Is this a 996 we are talking about?