Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Eratic Idle

Fiona Morrison

Does anyone know why my 3.2 revs up and down on cold start. Doesn't do it every start and the car seems to be driving fine. If you rev it up after starting (dont like doing it!)sometimes it stops but it def goes away when warmed up.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 108473

Fiona

I am no expert!......This is a commonly reported problem with 3.2's, most of them do it at some stage or another. If you look through the earlier pages of this section of the site you will find a number of references to the same/similar thing!

Most common problems are the airflow meter/sensor, corroded fuses, split or loose hoses, cylinder head temp sensor etc............suggest read the posts to get a flavour, don't worry.........you are not alone! :)

Migration info. Legacy thread was 108483

You should start without touching the accelerator.I was told. When starting the 3.2 do not rev just start and let it idle for a short time.Is this what your doing?Again, as above I am not an expert!

Migration info. Legacy thread was 108576

Hi Carl. YEs i just start wiht key and clutch pepressed. No accelerator. It starts fine but they the revs go up and down as if you were blipping the throttle. I was just wondering if I can ignore it or go organise a mortgage to fix.. assuming it needs fixed as car seems fine otherwise.

Must get nice piccie of Audi onto the other thread.. :)

Migration info. Legacy thread was 108581

Check list - start with the "back to basics" approach with some low cost housekeeping.