Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Audi driver thinking of converting...

Tartan_Rob

Hi ya Guys. I am an Audi driver through and through and currently own a pretty standard 2004 S4. Prior to this I had a 1998 S4 running approx 480bhp.

I'm looking to get back into something quick and having never owned/run a Porsche, I'm looking for some info. I test drove a 996 Carrera 2 Targa (?) last weekend at a local Porsche dealer and was impressed with power delivery (even though it was very slow), its poise, grip and confidence inspiring qualities. Good depreciation is also a benefit...! The wife currently has a 3.2 TT roadster, but is chaning it in spring for a A4 diesel. I do about 400miles a week.

I am looking to get into a 996 Turbo with x pack once my S4 has sold. Has anyone else moved from a bigger family car to an out and out sports car and what can you tell me about the move..? What options should I ideally be looking for and what should I be looking out for...?

Thanks for helping,Rob

Migration info. Legacy thread was 97593

moving to a proper 2+2 is a real change as a major factor is the loss of any practical storage space....... of course there is enough but not as easy to use...

but the 996 TT is a fine car and you'll find any 996 to be a good buy, but moving from wat you have a TT would be a better buy...

Migration info. Legacy thread was 97604

I moved from a 225bhp Audi TT,into an M3....then bought a 996 Carrera 4.