Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

powerloss on 3.2!

swiss tony

Hi guys , its my first time so be gentle.

Have an increasingly bad problem on my 89 3.2 carrera , it happens when the car is up to full temp and i have been driving for at least 20mins. The car will suddenly lose power and lurch violently and struggle to regain itself , if i back off it eases slightly but then comes straight back if i try to increase speed. I've just tried a new DME relay switch but to no avail. The car has recently had a 12k service so it will have new plugs etc. I think the problem is fuel related but don't know what to try next!

Any suggestions would be grately appreciated

Migration info. Legacy thread was 69372

I had a missfire on my 3.2 - here is what cured mine....

There is a new manual (which I purchased after fixing the problem!)
for the 911 Carrera printed by Bentley Publishers which contains this
paragraph regarding the electronic ignition on the 911.

Page 200-13 Engine management
"All the cars covered by this manual use engine management systems
that rely on precise electrical signals for proper operation. Some of
the DME circuits operate on very low current and are sensitive to
increased resistance due to faulty or corroded wiring or connectors.
If any of these signals are distorted, incorrect or missing the car
can develop major driveability problems."

Several months ago the car started to fire on 3 or 4 or 5 cylinders
when started from cold - then it would pick up on the offending
cylinders when the engine was warm.