Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

remote problems

911Silverback

Nurburgring
Hi all

i changed the battery in my key because i was starting to have problems with the c/locking, i thought it was a simple battery fading issue, however since i changed it the remote does not work at all, i swapped the batteries over double quick within a few seconds, so I'm now having to use the key to open and lock the car

any advice appreciated, cheers...rob

Migration info. Legacy thread was 39283

Not that I'm an expert, but I think you may have erased the memory in the remote by changing the battery - On 993's you need the RED master key and then it's a simple case of reprogramming. If you have the key, but no instructions, then a visit to the local 'friendly' OPC could be a quick fix.

Can't give any more advice..........sorry.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 39363

Guys

I've
changed the batteries on both my remotes on my 993 without any memory loss, I don't know if its different on a 996 but I would have a look at the manual.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 39386

I can't offer any help, but would be interested in the solution. :wink:
For the first time yesterday i was treated to the full bells and whistles treatment. The car had not been used for 5 days, so remote wasn't working, attempted to unlock and deactivate the alarm, when it went off.

on the plus side, i saw lots of my neighbours checking to see what was happeneing, so thats nice to know.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 39395