Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Tiptronic Driving Technique

Pete Melsom

Silverstone
I posted this question last week in the wrong forum and subsequently didn't get any replies, so I thought i would try again here.....

I'm new to Porsche, 993 & Tiptronic and I have a question..... when in auto mode my '96 993 Targa Tiptronic occasionally 'chugs' (slight kangarooing effect) when changing up at slow speeds (20 to 30 mph) i.e. from 2nd to 3rd or 3rd to 4th. Is it my novice driving technique or do I need to get it looked at? Perhaps I need to switch to manual mode at these speeds? I'm also worried that it might be harming my transmission. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 35312

Hi Pete

I never had any chugging on my previous 993 Cab tip. It always felt better keeping the revs higher tho and have to confess that I very rarely had it in auto mode. (that was Mrs H mode along with the drivers arm rest) Transmission harm is quite rare on the tip boxes as they have an indestructible reputation unless insanely abused. Probably worth getting a good independant to have a gander at it and put your mind at rest Sorry I cant be more help

Migration info. Legacy thread was 35317

It maybe that you are using too light a throttle style of driving and the box is hesitating in super lazy mode.

Try a sharp blip on accelerator to sharpen up the program or select 3 auto when driving around town.

Migration info. Legacy thread was 35591