Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

911 for 12k-ish

Robert Haddow

First, as a Porsche virgin, I'd like to say how much I've enjoyed reading all the comments/posts on the forum. Very informative and useful. The only problem is now that my head is spinning and I feel like I've got information overload! :?

I've only got a small budget so my choices are limited, but I've set my heart on a 911. Originally I was thinking of a 1970s car, but I'm no mechanic (where does the oil go??!) and someone mentioned that there are a lot of horror stories out there.

Having read the comments here, is it feasible to get anything else? (A 1980s 3.2 for example) It will be a weekender, and I'm happy to look at LHD to keep the cost down.

I know you guys have probably answered hundreds of enquiries like this (and are probably sick of repeating yourself), but any personal help and advice would really be appreciated

Migration info. Legacy thread was 9164

A good 911 for 12k..

It is possible to find very nice cars for 12k, especially if you dont mind lhd. In some cases there is not a huge saving between lh and rh 911, but there can be a vast difference in quality (between all old 911).

Your desire for a 70's 911 is common, but if you want something that carries the lowest risk, easy maintanence and crucially, is free of corrosion you should head for a Carrera 3.2 or maybe a 3.0SC.

Depending on whether you want a 'mint' example, or a very nice usuable 911 will dictate which model and how new. I am sure there are a few top class 3.0SC out there for 12k and several decent 3.2, you just need to identify the good from the bad.