Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Porsche 997.1 TPC Lights

Rob Grove

Hi there, I'm relatively new to the 997 game and I have a question that I think only a thread can answer. I've recently bought into a 2007 gen 1 Targa. When I bought the car I was aware that it kept showing 'TPC INACTIVE" and throwing an exclamation mark on the instrument dials. The wheels had curbing damage so I've had them refurbished and new valve sensors put in for the TPC issue. After I got the car back I performed a reset on the TPC system in the on board computer and expected it to fix it. However, the car still gives me the exclamation mark and TPC INACTIVE message but seems to be giving me the tyre pressures for the right hand side? These sensors only cost me £20 so I'm very sure they're not OEM parts but seem to work on the right but not the left. On the left hand side of the car I do actually have an odd tyre that isn't the same as the other three and I believe this may be the cause of the issue by confusing the TPC system, but before I spend the £240 I was quoted for a matching tyre I'd like to get an expert opinion.

Thanks, Rob

£20 sensors and an odd tyre? I rather feel you already know the answer!
Sort your tyres and buy some decent sensors, they don't have to be OEM just a reasonable make and obviously the correct frequency. Search TPMS Porsche in Ebay.

Tyre pressure sensors work on pressure .. a diaphragm in the unit will be compressed under pressure and give a reading ( voltage ) .. not exactly the case but it gives you an idea ..

The type of tyre will have no effect on the pressure that's inside the tyre .