Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

New to 911

Giggs

Hi everyone, first post here, I have recently fell in love with Porsches's 911 from the styling to the engine and handling. What I don't love so much is the price so I am sticking to the 997 for now, as a complete novice to the 997 can I get a few pointers in;

Which model to go for?
Which engine is the most reliable for its power?
What can I upgrade?
What options are important?
Are these cars DIY'able?

Sorry for a lot of questions and probably more will follow I am just completely new to the 991 world. Thanks for any help.

Some idea on budget would be useful to see if a Gen.2 997 is a possibility; also,do you prefer manual or auto ?

About £25k, also I prefer auto with paddles I'm not sure if that was a thing on the 997 if not manual will do.

Auto 997.1 have buttons on the steering wheel to change up/down, you can retrofit paddles from a Merc AFAIK, the later 997.2 come with a PDK gearbox and paddles.

Are they DIYable? - depends on your ability, but essentially they're a car the same as any other

What can I upgrade? - most things, depends on how far you want to go!

What options are important? - again, that would depend on what's important to you, e.g. I wouldn't have bought a car without heated seats but I'm sure others would!

IMO, you're looking at a good rebuilt 997.1 for that sort of money, you're a bit shy of the amount needed for a 997.2 which are the more reliable model (engine), they seem to start at around £30k - if you can stretch to that then I think the general consensus would be to go for the 997.2.