Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

997.2 Collection from OPC- A couple of things

keendean

Monza
Hi,

I have my new to me 997.2 C4S from OPC, it just passed its 111. And brakes were noted to have more than 50% life in them, this surprises me, as this look pretty aged, and have a lip too. I'm not an expert, but does this not display wear? Should I get them checked out? Also the alloys have some blistering paint, of course not under warranty, but expected this to be right. I know its an eight year old car, but surely this should of been picked up. I've had the car since Saturday. I'm going to send the pics of the flaky paint to the sales guy and see what he says, or am I expecting too much? TIA

Brakes are a bit subjective. My understanding is that for a car to be sold as 'Approved Pre-Owned' by Porsche, the discs must not have more than 1mm of wear on them. Given the difference between 'new' discs and the 'minimum thickness' is only 2 mm, then having 'more than 50% life' would indicate that, by measurement, they are showing less than 1mm wear.

As for the wheels, I would have expected them to be, more of less, blemish free. So maybe the odd minor chip here and there, commensurate with age, but certainly not flaky paint!

keendean said:
Hi,