Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Porsche 911 cat c

martynoc

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum. I work in a garage in Cornwall and we look after a lot of Porches. I have a customer with a 997 2004 3.6 careras 2 in great condition, 65k and full Porsche history upto the last which we have done. He is looking to sell it and it's fairly cheap. He thought it was a cat d but turns out to be a cat c. We have checked over the car and it has been repaired to an excellent standard. It's a cheap car from what I can see looking at prices of others but should I be put off by it and how much would it put off others when I come to resell? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Martyn

:welcome:

It all hinges on the price. If its a car to use, then fine, just bear in mind it will always be cat C recorded, so will not sell as easily as a car without a story, and always at a substantial discount.

I would want to know more about why it was written off... what was the accident damage?

Knock a third off what you'd value a straight one at. Does Cat C have to be inspected after repairs completed and I think if so comes with a certificate?

My daily was made a cat c. To put it back on the road all that was required was a fresh mot once the repairs were done