Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Brake discs...DIY noob?

Robertb

I've bought some rear brake discs for my 996 4S, and fancy giving DIY fitting a go. I am not an experienced mechanic. Is it reasonably straightforward? I've watched the obligatory YouTube vids, it looks OK.

My concerns are...
-levering the pistons apart; can I cause damage doing this?
-that the screws holding the discs on will be seized

Anything else that can/will go wrong? Any tips?

Rather than taking off the caliper initially, can I have a go at the disc screws first, and if they are seized quietly put the wheel back on and take it to the indy?

Brake pads were changed not too long ago, so the pins etc should come apart OK.

When I did mine the hardest part was getting the pad retaining pin out as it corrodes itself in place, spent a lot of time knocking it back and forth and rubbing it with emery cloth/wd40 in between.

The rest was fairly simple including undoing the disc retaining screw although I used an impact driver.

Pushing the pads back is ok just remember to unscrew the fluid reservoir and don't have the handbrake on.

mr_stevo said:
Pushing the pads back is ok just remember to unscrew the fluid reservoir and don't have the handbrake on.

Or better still open the bleed nipple, just in case the fluid over spills the reservoir.

Assuming the pistons just push back in as opposed to screw then you can use a large G clamp to do it.

In addition to the retaining screws that can be a pig, the caliper bolts can also seize. Give them a coating of penetrating fluid beforehand to make it easier.