Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Newbie saying hello and seeking thoughts on 997 turbo

asad7860

Hi Guys

I'm new to Porsche, but have always wanted one.
I'm now ready to buy one as a weekend car and can't make my mind up over the 997 gen 1 turbo manual vs the gen 2 pdk.
I've done the web searches, trawled through the forums, and lots of people have quite polar opinions.
Lots of threads are old now, so I just wondered if anyone has any thoughts.
My budget is 60-65k, which means I can pick up a low mileage gen 1 manual or a medium mileage gen 2 pdk.

Does the gen one feel dated to drive? compared to gen 2?

Is the gen 1 Mezger engine more special? - I know it has racing pedigree, which makes it very desirable and collectible for some.

Is the PDK too easy? My daily drive is an E class AMG saloon with 550bhp, very fast but slightly un-involving.

Would welcome and value some comments,

cheers

Asad

I have been fortunate to own a Gen 1.5 Turbo and now a 2012 Turbo S PDk. The gen2 in my opinion is better. They are both great cars however and you will enjoy owning either one.

The budget you have could stretch to a Gen 2 Turbo but may have a higher mileage. If your budget is regid you can consider sticking to the Gen 1 but with a lower mileage.

Good luck with your search

I have a manual car and I love it.
The PDK will be fantastic too if you are happy with having both an auto for your daily and your toy.