Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Which CTEK? Trickle Charge

911_AS

Due to limited usage, my car needs a trickle charger. I've never used one before, hence need some guidance from owners who have experience with such things.

Which is the best CTEK to buy for a 911 Gen 2? I found this :-
http://www.ctek.com/products/vehicle/mxs-3-8,
however, I am unsure if something better / more suitable is out there.

Also - are they easy to use? I have heard some stories of owners not connecting them properly and nearly frying the electrics!! :nooo:

Hi there. I think the Ctek is a great piece of kit and I swear by them. I use MXS5 and this is the place I found was good value when i last bought it

https://www.frazerpart.com/acatalog...er__optimizer_and_trickle_charger.html#SID=25

I like the cigarette lighter cable as it's really convenient if you keep the car in a garage. Not had any issues myself with overheating and they are properly protected nonstop that happening as far as I know

Cheers

I also have a Ctek MXS 5.0. I've had it for many years and used it on multiple vehicles. They are incredible bits of kit and I'd recommend anybody who owns multiple cars to get one. The MXS 5.0 is particularly good as it caters for multiple battery types, some chargers only cater for one battery type.