Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

If you had £15000?

cbr6dc

Montreal
Hi, I'm a newbie looking at buying a Porsche because I wouldn't do many miles, I have a garage and I have some disposable money that when I come to sell the car it is still worth something. I.e. my Ford Focus cosy nearly £3k but would be worth £500 now....

What would you buy?

I'm all set for a 996 Carrera 2S. But just seen the 3.4 Cayman. Are these any good? Or does the 911 still rule all?

I figure 2 wheel drive = less things to go wrong = cheaper e.g. gearbox etc.

GT3 kit or not though?

Convertible or not?

What about 100,000 mile cars? What are their weak points? Normally it's a cambelt replacement and pads/discs.

Also the BIGGY for me - SPEEDHUMPS! There are bloody loads of these on every road to get off my estate! How do the 996's cope?

Would I ever stand a chance of a GT3 kit and a speed hump? Particularly the ones that are raised to nearly the height of the kerb!

Has anyone successfully claimed against a school or against the council for these things causing damage to your car?

Lot of questions I know but writing this as I think about it.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can take the time to answer.

Some answers:

No such thing as a 2S, only 4S.

No difference in maintenance between Carrera 2 and Carrera 4.

No cambelts - all chains.

No problem with speed humps (so long as you don't hit them at speed).

Thanks Alex - so only a 4S has the lowered suspension and the sports exhausts?

I thought there was a 3.4 - 3.6S on the 996? And a 3.6 - 3.8S on the 997?