Porsche 911UK Forum

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

1986 944 advice

dusse123

Hello porsche people! If you wouldn't mind hearing me out I'd love some help and advice.

18 year old car lover here, (yes, I'm only 18 and I'm on a porsche forum, crazy I know but hear me out... Please?) I've been driving for 2 years now as a named driver on my parents vehicles, a 1.6 turbo kia hatch and my dad's 21 year old 2.5L volvo when I'm in Norway, hence the driving from 16. I'm working full time now whilst taking evening classes to make up for some serious health issues during my last couple of years of schooling so have some money and am looking to live a little, especially now that I can't do quite as much of the sport I used to love.

This is where my love from porsches and all beautifully designed cars come in, I've grown up admiring my uncles mint 1980 911 targa so when I saw a 944 within budget I fell in love! Even more so when I saw how reasonable the Insurance was... Half the price compared to the gutless hatches most of my friends are driving.

Sorry about the long introduction but here's the real questions. The car in question is a very nice 1986 944 with 150,000 miles, always been taken care of by porsche experts and dealers. So... Is this the car for me to enjoy on all the wonderful roads Scotland has to offer and then to get my speed fix on the occasional track day? What should I look out for? Whilst I'm ready to spend some money looking after her how durable are they and whats the parts availability like? How easy are they to maintain and look after myself?