Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

Changing up quickly

StephenS1

Monza
I've been driving my 997s for about 18 months now and I'm only now discovering how best to accelerate on roads, bearing in mind the torquey nature of this NA engine.

Before I would ring out the revs all the way to 7000 in each gear assuming that this was the quickest way to accelerate but what I've realised recently is that if you change up after about 5.5k you arrive at the next lumpy bit of torque in the ascending gear.

It's like the power tails off quite a lot after this point (about 6k).

You don't want to be taking your car anywhere near 7K rpm, as you'll go into the dreaded over rev section and it'll get logged into the cars computer.

Over rev's are quite frowned upon, and definitely affect the sale of a car if its checked. I believer there are a few different rev ranges that get logged.

Your right about the cars performance and sound when you go above 5K rpm, the sound alone is phenomenal and really sound like a race engine at that point. The gear change sounds even better. I've only had my car 7 months and once I discovered this hidden zone, I fell deeper in love with the car.

According to my brief google for 997S power curves, it should be still making good power until at least 6500.

I've not got one of these NA cars, but just going from the curve alone I'd hold the gear until then myself for maximum acceleration.

chowgar said:
You don't want to be taking your car anywhere near 7K rpm, as you'll go into the dreaded over rev section and it'll get logged into the cars computer....