Porsche 911 UK Enthusiasts Online Community Discussion Forum GB

Welcome to the @Porsche911UK website. Register a free account today to become a member! Sign up is quick and easy, then you can view, participate in topics and posts across the site that covers all things Porsche.

Already registered and looking to recovery your account, select 'login in' and then the 'forget your password' option.

997 headlight adjustment for left-hand right-hand driving

pjvenda

Silverstone
Hi all,

Thought I would post a quick guide about adjusting 997 gen1 litronic (or bi-xenon) headlights for driving on the 'other' side of the road. I reckon the process is very similar for non xenon headlights but I've no experience with those. This is most useful for UK drivers who travel in Europe (and beyond) where the right side of the road is the safe one. This adjustment can be done on the headlights -- we don't need no stinkin' stickers to drive on the other side of the road ;-)

The process should be obvious and by looking at the manual it still appears to be obvious. However, I am very glad I did not have to figure it out at night in the cold at a petrol station just outside the eurotunnel in France........ it was not that obvious. Also the Internet has very few references or photos of the said headlights, so googling for the solution didn't help much either. For future reference, here it is with photos.

Unless I got this completely wrong and my headlights have been wrongly setup since I own the car, this is what the settings should be:
'T' - for driving on the right hand side of the road (Europe, etc.);
'O' - for driving on the left hand side of the road (UK, etc.);

Or just flick the switch to the opposite setting to what was originally there. The T/O marks are engraved on the headlights, so look for them near the switch or on the opposite side of the main bulb assembly (see photos near the bottom).